The Snowman by Jo Nesbø

Published May 10, 2011 by Knopf Publishing Group

Source: Library

This book is part of the Harry Hole series by Nesbø, who is a mystery writer in Norway. The series follows Harry Hole, a detective, as he solves cases. I had heard about the book before and my mind also associated it with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, another famous mystery to come out of Scandinavia. I’m not usually a mystery reader, but I was intrigued by the plot of this book, a serial killer in Norway who leaves behind a snowman at the scene, but unfortunately, I was not able to finish the book.

I found the book difficult to follow and very confusing. I couldn’t keep the characters straight, except for Hole and had to keep flipping back and forth (or in my case, doing a search on my e-reader) to figure out who the characters were and what had already happened. I also thought the writing was not good. I’m not sure if this is because it is just a badly written book or whether it’s because the book was translated from Norwegian to English and something was “lost in translation.” I had the same problem with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, where the writing left something to be desired, but I was able to finish that book. This book, despite the intriguing plot and the fact that I really, really wanted to know who the serial killer was, well, I had to tell myself to put it down, because I was not enjoying reading the book. Too bad, because although I said I’m not a big mystery reader, I do like to read mysteries every now and then.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

